After using the Personal FF for almost 3 years (with few short spells of A5 here and there), I must admit I was really sceptical about making the switch to the A5 full time. But I think I’ve found a system that works and I feel some peace if not total nirvana.

It’s been a little over a month now using the A5 and I don’t know if it’s the Charleston or the changes in my life that is contributing to the success. 

Here are some of the ways I have benefitted:

– the vertical weekly inserts are big enough that I can block calendar time and make lists of things to do

– easier and quicker to take notes as opposed to having to squeeze my writing or keeping a separate notebook for extra notes

– I have lot of A4 size printed paper that I need to keep track of and I’ve just folding them and putting them in the full length pockets as opposed to always carrying around an extra file

– only work stuff goes in there. All my personal receipts and loose paper goes in my Midori which I carry all the time

– I put in a lot card holders to keep business cards that I need often with spare ones just in case

– I have a pouch that holds all my addresss pages from my Personal (was too lazy to re – write everything)

How I deal with the extra weight of carrying it around

Firstly, I’m using a bigger bag these days since I am on the move very often. Since, I am not overstuffing the A5 or my bag, it’s bearable. Secondly, if I’m going to the grocery store or someplace I won’t definitely need it, I leave it in my car or even at home. I have come to deal with the fact that I don’t need my organizer everywhere. I still have my Midori to write stuff or plan something which I can transfer later. I put in appointments on my phone too with reminders which I also transfer to the A5 later. Thirdly, probably because of the structure, the Charleston is not so bad to carry around just in my hand. I always carry bags on my shoulders or my arm, leaving one hand free for the Filofax if I need.

Truth be told, the size is not as obtrusive as I had once thought and it’s quite manageable to carry and use.